Why am I here?

So why am I here in India? This is the final part of my Masters programme at King’s College, London. I’m here to conduct research for my final dissertation due in 2 months time. I’m reading an MA in Disasters, Adaptation and Development.

The topic of my research is Youth Leadership in an Urban Slum and the implications for Disaster Risk Reduction. I intend to interview youth aged 16-25 who are living in an urban slum prone to disasters. Disasters could be anything from earthquakes to floods,  fire or other environmental hazards that cause disasters. Reducing the disaster risk could involve measures to clear rubbish or unblock drains or implement early warning systems or awareness campaigns – essentially reducing people’s vulnerability to disaster events.

~ by philiprundell on June 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
